Feminists for Islam Update #3

Mayim Bialik responds to Linda Sarsour

The phrase “Muslim feminist” has always amused me. The Koran is pretty clear on the subordinate place of women and it explicitly states that women only count as half a man in terms of testimony and inheritance. But, as I have repeatedly stated on this blog and elsewhere,  I have no right to stop any woman calling herself a feminist whilst she kowtows to the demands of misogynist clerics. It is not my business.

In this world of crazy identity politics, I am well aware that an atheist white male should not be telling religious, mostly non-white women what they can and can’t do. Indeed, were I to do so, I would no doubt be guilty of “mansplaining” as defined by misandrist “third wave” and confused “fourth wave” feminists (don’t ask me).  So I offer this post from Mayim Bialik, best known for playing Amy Farrah-Fowler in the sitcom The Big Bang Theory.

Bialik attacks Linda Sarsour, the delightfully anti-Semitic and misogynist (snigger)organiser of the anti-Trump protests in the USA for her double standards on both feminism and Zionism. I have always wondered why the anti-Israel crowd have such double standards and Bialik sums it up nicely…

“The question is this: Many countries – many Muslim countries, in fact – perpetrate atrocities against women which include: female genital mutilation, forced marriages, child brides, systematic abuse of women by the justice system, revenge rape and honor killing. Why is Israel held to a standard none of these other countries – whose offenses are, arguably more extreme – are held to?”

The exclusion of Jewish people from the protection of identity politics is something that has always mystified me. (It’s also fine to racially abuse Slovenians too. Apparently). But then most people have an understanding of Zionism as advanced as Rik Mayall and his mates’ understanding of Fascism in The Young Ones. I am no supporter of Israel and I find the current Israeli government, led by a man who could start an argument in an empty room, particularly unpleasant. I am no fan of Judaism either and I note that Bialik doesn’t wear a wig in public despite describing herself as an Orthodox Jew. Who said religion had to make sense?

The faux-left and “feminists” who hate Israel and embrace Islamism are a mystery to me. But not as much of a mystery as Gigi Hadid being a supermodel when she isn’t good looking and pulls the same stupid duckface in every photo. But then, what do I know?

 

Leave a Reply

