Quote of the Day #12

Christopher Hitchens

“That which can be asserted without evidence can be dismissed without evidence.”Enough said.

If I was to tell you that an invisible pink unicorn called Gerald lived in my shoe, would you believe me? How do I know Gerald is both pink and invisible? It is a matter of faith that defies human understanding, you must have faith in Gerald. And Gerald tells me to eat ham sandwiches and drink beer. He also demands special privileges for His followers and tax exemptions for His Holy Stable. Anyone who objects or fails to show sufficient respect to my beliefs is a disgusting Geraldophobe, a racist and worse than Adolf Hitler, Mao Tse-Tung and Pol Pot combined.

If I said these things you would dismiss me as a loony who was quite possibly dangerous. And you would be right to do so.

How are Judaism, Christianity and Islam any different to the above pile of garbage I thought up after a few cans on Friday night? Jehovah, Jesus and Allah are simply Geralds with a few centuries of history behind them

 

4 thoughts on “Quote of the Day #12”

Leave a comment