I Am 36% Muslim

My own Damascene moment – see Acts 9

Readers of this blog may be surprised to realise that I have had a moment as astonishing as Saul/Paul did on the road to Damascus. I have realised that I am 36% Muslim.

No, I haven’t gone insane. Please stay with me.

‘Islam’ is a relgious/political system based on the teaching of Muhammad of Mecca who lived in what is now Saudi Arabia in the late sixth and early seventh century of the Common Era. In Arabic, ‘Islam’ means ‘submission’ and a follower of Muhammad’s ideas is called a ‘Muslim’ – ‘one who submits.’ This submission is to the will of the one god who created the universe, in Arabic ‘Allah.’ Unlike the various Christian denominations, there are no set rituals to become a Muslim, one must merely recite the Shahada or Profession of Faith. In English this is usually rendered as…

“There is no god but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet.”

Whilst I cannot accept all eleven words, I can announce that I’m willing to accept four of them and proclaim myself 36% Muslim…

“There is no god but Allah and Muhammad is his prophet.

Wibble.

Oh, and to any Christians reading this, can I just point out that the road to Damascus runs in both directions.

 

One thought on “I Am 36% Muslim”

Leave a comment